God Goes Green

Standard

I have a Pinterest problem.  I love to salivate over the yummy (and super-fattening) recipes, imagine what it would be like to live in the houses, afford and fit into the clothes, come up with the witty, inspiring sayings, or travel to the beautiful places all around the world.

The pins that have never really interested me are the crafts.  I’m not a crafty person.  I don’t want to take things that I would normally discard and make something new with them.  I don’t need handcrafted home decor made from wine corks, toilet paper rolls, and crayons.  I think some of the projects are cute and things I’d like to do with my kiddo this summer, but I don’t have an inner desire to re-use the old and make it new again. I know it’s good for the Earth, but it just doesn’t inspire me.

That is, until I began to realize my disinterest in these beautiful things was a perfect reflection of how I viewed my life.  I viewed my life as old and something easily discardable.  Those craft projects take too much work; likewise, it would take too much work to really change the course of my life and the mission of my heart, right?  I didn’t see the value in myself. I didn’t see how I could be made into a new creation.  In my heart, I was who I was, and I was too far gone to fix things now.  Sometimes I wished I could just start over, or even worse, quit.

Luckily for me, God likes to upcycle us.  He likes to make us new; He likes to make us into the people He desires us to be.  All I had to do was realize that and focus my life on Him and everything He can do instead of everything that has gone wrong without Him.  I can undergo a metamorphosis or a change just by committing my life to Christ.  Paul tells the Corinthians, “if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (1Cor 5:17)  What an amazing message that is!  Just by living in Him, I can become a new creation!  No waste, just improvement!

I’m in the middle of a turbulent season of change in my life.  Nothing is the same as it was two years ago, or even one year ago.  Really, hardly anything is the same as it was six months ago.  Anyone who knows me knows that I am not a person who likes change.  I resist it with all of my being.  But by accepting Christ and making my relationship with Him the center of my life, I can embrace change, because I know that He is never going to let me go.  And when God works in my heart, I feel changes happening in me, and I don’t want to fight them any longer.

About Becky

I am a wife, mother, a teacher, and a Christ-follower. I am imperfect in every sense of the word, and I'm learning to be okay with that. I'm learning to live more kindly and purposefully. I desire to become who I am meant to be in Christ, to "be completely humble and gentle, be patient, bearing with one another in love" (Ephesians 4:2).

Leave a Reply

