A Simple Lesson

Standard

I am seeing a counselor.

Wow, that was liberating to say.  I don’t know why I always felt like that was so humiliating to admit, or even to do.  Think how much I could have already worked through if I had done this years ago.  I used to think that counseling meant something was “wrong” with me, or I was “sick”.  Nothing’s wrong with me.  I have issues and things that I just need to talk through and learn some strategies to deal with.  And that’s okay.  Everyone needs this at times in their life.

Today, I learned something very simple and profound.  I learned that God knows everything about me.  He knows what I think, and what I feel, and when I sit and stand and move.  He knows what I’ve been through and what is to come for me. 

And somehow, He still wants me as his.

Through my counseling, I’m learning to turn to Him to deal with my issues and improve my life.   Because He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless. -Isaiah 40:29 

So no matter how defeated I feel, I can take strength from my relationship with Him.

About Becky

I am a wife, mother, a teacher, and a Christ-follower. I am imperfect in every sense of the word, and I'm learning to be okay with that. I'm learning to live more kindly and purposefully. I desire to become who I am meant to be in Christ, to "be completely humble and gentle, be patient, bearing with one another in love" (Ephesians 4:2).

Leave a comment