Prayer

Standard

Pray.

People ask me to pray for them or someone they know pretty frequently. Most people know that I am a Christian, or that I believe prayer works. But I don’t know how to pray effectively.

Usually, when I pray, I feel like I am just asking God for whatever I want to happen. That doesn’t seem effective. I feel like prayer needs to be something more than that.

I like to write my prayers down. Maybe it’s just my type-A personality, but I have a hard time with the abstract “in my head” prayers. I think God knows what’s on my heart, but I also think it helps me to think through them. Then, I pray more consciously. I think about what I need to give thanks for, ask forgiveness for, what people or situations in my life need His grace or intervention, and where I need His help.

I’ve started looking at an e-book called Warrior Prayers: Praying the Word for Boys in the Areas they Need it Most. It guides mothers (or parents) in praying Scripture over their sons to help them become godly men. It is awesome, and was recommended by a church friend. It is available through http://www.warriorprayers.com for $4! I am sure I’ll go though it and then pull it out and refer back to it again and again.

A few weeks ago, I attended a retreat and went to a session about praying Scripture. I loved it!! It was one of the coolest things I’d ever heard of, and really seemed so easy! This is something I’m really going to try. Not only do I think it will help me to ground my prayer, but it will force me to get deeper into God’s Word. I’m so excited about this new adventure in prayer.

God is drawing me closer to Him in so many ways, and it is changing my life.

I know prayer is supposed to be easy. But for many people, I’d venture to bet it is not. That is why I am so thankful for people who love to help Christians through their writing, their blogs, their speaking, etc. It is such a blessing to have so many resources available to me.

About Becky

I am a wife, mother, a teacher, and a Christ-follower. I am imperfect in every sense of the word, and I'm learning to be okay with that. I'm learning to live more kindly and purposefully. I desire to become who I am meant to be in Christ, to "be completely humble and gentle, be patient, bearing with one another in love" (Ephesians 4:2).

Leave a Reply

