Choice, Change, & Control–April A to Z Challenge

Standard

If there is one thing I’ve learned in the past few years, it’s that I have a choice in my own happiness. What I mean by that is that I can choose whether to let the way other people act affect me. I used to be such a control freak. I wanted to do everything myself, because then I knew it’d be done correctly. I worried incessantly about things that I had no control over.

I cannot choose how other people act. I cannot control what other people do or don’t do. I cannot change people’s minds and hearts, although I can try to influence them.

But I can change how I choose to react. I can choose how I let other people and my surroundings affect me. I can choose to control myself, my reactions to situations, and focus my concern on my son.

Making this simple change in my thinking has made me so much happier. I am free from worrying about things that just aren’t under my control. I do the best I can. I try to treat people kindly and fairly. I’m not perfect. But I try my best, and I try to be honest and center myself around the things that matter and are true.

I am not the one in control. Ultimately, nothing is in my control, but I cannot worry. “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” –Jeremiah 29:11

__

I’m participating in the April A to Z Blogging Challenge!!

Learn more at http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com.

About Becky

I am a wife, mother, a teacher, and a Christ-follower. I am imperfect in every sense of the word, and I'm learning to be okay with that. I'm learning to live more kindly and purposefully. I desire to become who I am meant to be in Christ, to "be completely humble and gentle, be patient, bearing with one another in love" (Ephesians 4:2).

Leave a Reply

